Cumbernauld Colts ladies defeated by Inverness City

editorial image

Cumbernauld Colts Ladies travelled to Bught Park in Inverness on Sunday, April 28 to take on Inverness City.

The Colts were hoping for a result which would keep their top position in the league.

Unfortunately this was relinquished following their 2-1 defeat at the hands of Inverness City.

Cumbernauld had taken the lead when in form striker Sarah Wardlaw latched onto a through ball from captain Lesley Blair on 25 minutes, Wardlaw beating the offside and slotting past Jappy.

The Colts lead only lasted a matter of minutes. An innocuous forward pass was miss-kicked by Ruth Young in the Colts back line.

Unfortunately for the usually sure footed defender the ever sharp City forward Rachel McLauchlan took immediate advantage pouncing on her mistake, lashing the ball past Roe in the Colts goal.

The wind in the faces of the visitors in the 2nd half saw the Colts fight hard to get out of their own half, resorting to counter attacking football when Inverness attacks broke down.

Cumbernauld had Eilidh Roe in their goal to thank for keeping them in it when she turned a seemingly goal bound

strike round the post on 55 minutes that brought immediate applause from the crowd.

With only two minutes of the 90 left it looked likely Cumbernauld would be heading home with the

point to keep them in top league position.

That was until McLauchlan hit a fantastic 25 yard strike that left Roe helpless in the Cumbernauld goal to get the victory for Inverness.

After the match manager Julie McSherry was disappointed with the result.

She said: “The girls were magnificent today. I thought we’d get the point if not the victory. We always looked like we would get that one more chance to take all three points. Unfortunately for us it just never came.”

MoTM for Colts was Siobhan Broadley. Hannah Gordon was awarded MoTM for Inverness from the visitors.

Colts next league match is at home against Paisley Saints on May 12 at Broadwood, 2pm kick off.

Inverness City

Jappy, Annand, Deans, Cadden, Gordon, Main, Masterton, McCarthy, McLauchlan, Nichol, Paterson.

Substitutes – Dingwall, Gillies, Macrae, Markley.


Roe, Galbraith, Ruth Young, Broadley, Shaw, McIntyre, Blair, Rebecca Young, Wardlaw, Morrison,


Substitutes – McSherry, Hutchison, Martin.