Colts victory over Stranraer in cup

Cumbernauld Colts Ladies...12

Stranraer Ladies ..................0

Scottish Cup 1

The Colts will be in the draw for the second round of the cup following a convincing 12-0 win their visitors from Stranraer.

Two of the Colts bagged hat tricks for the home team and local girl Rebecca Young managed four, from her attacking left wing position in the rout.

Young’s goals came in the 8th, 9th, 40th and 28th minutes.

Colts had an early scare on seven minutes when forward Joanne Morrison went down under a challenge from the Stranraer keeper.

Morrison was replaced by Nicole Hutchison who went on to score one of the home team’s hat tricks inside 21 minutes of taking the field, scoring on the 12th, 25th and 28th minutes.

The first half scoring was completed by Simpson, who netted twice in the 20th and 33rd minutes.

Simpson would have to wait until the 50th minute to get her hat trick.

The tie was won by half time with the Colts taking an eight goal lead into the interval.

Player/manager McSherry took an unfamiliar starting place in the Colts goal as both club keepers missed the match through work commitments, and emerged with an impressive clean

The scoring quickly continued when McIntyre made it 9-0 two minutes after the break.

The goal fest was completed on 52 minutes, when Ruth Young scored a penalty given against the visitors for an unlucky hand ball, Young striking the spot kick confidently, giving Evans in the Stranraer goal no chance.

After the match McSherry praised her players, not for the dozen goals they scored, but for the performance from her players.

She said: “We felt after the first 20 minutes the girls may have relaxed after scoring a quick four goals. However, they stuck to the task they were asked to carry out and completed a professional performance.”

MoTM for the Colts was Sarah Wardlaw and Evans for the visitors.

Colts next match is away to Queens Park on the Sunday, May 26.

Cumbernauld Colts: McSherry, Devon, Ruth Young, Wilson, Shaw, Wardlaw, McIntyre, Martin, Rebecca Young, Morrison and Simpson.

Substitutes: Hutchison, Broadley and Porter.

Stranraer: Agnew, Campbell, Cowan, Evans, Gallacher, Kelly, Kennedy, McDougall, Muir, Murray, Reid, Whorlow and Whorlow.