Good day on the fairways

It was a nice, warm summer’s day for the 150 who entered Kilsyth Lennox Golf Club’s final championship qualifier on Saturday, July 26.

Saturday, 2nd August 2014, 11:00 am
The 12th at Kilsyth Lennox Golf Club.

With a manicured course set up by David Stanners and his team, it was no surprise that there was good scoring 
in the ideal playing conditions.

The best net score came in the third division when Tom Wilhare and John Williamson shared net 63 with Tom taking the top slot after a countback.

William Kerr had a season best 64 to claim first place in division two, and Gordon Eatherington came first in division one posting a nice net 66.

William Erskine is the man in form in the scratch section maintaining his recent good spell of scoring with an excellent gross 71.

Divisional qualifying scores: Division one – Gordon Eatherington 75 (9) 66; William Erskine 71 (2) 69; Tommy Campbell 77 (8) 69. Division two – William Kerr 81 (17) 64; Scott Wilson 77 (11) 66; Michael Mooney 79 (12) 67. Division three – Tom Wilhare 83 (20) 63; John Williamson 87 (24) 63; David Burns 90 (26) 66.

The hotly contested Wednesday Shield was won by a jubilant Andrew Heeps, his four round total of 284 securing the trophy.

Congratulations to the Thomson McCrone team as they made it through to this year’s knockout final following a fine semi-final away victory over Sandyhills Golf Club on Sunday, July 27. They will now meet last year’s winners Milngavie in the final on Sunday, August 12.

This year’s Finals Day will be held on Saturday, August 23. There will be an evening presentation for all the finalists and friends. Live music and an evening buffet will make it a day to remember for all. Contact social convener Thomas Fitzsimmons for booking details on 01236 824115.


The Dorothy Rudge Trophy was contested by the ladies in a Stableford format with Muriel O’Hara winning with 36 points.

Runner up and winner of the Captain’s Prize was Moira Mitchell.

The gents also competed in a Stableford competition. The men played for the Bob Pearson Trophy which was won by division two winner John Tervit with 40 points. The division one winner was Hamish McVicar with 36 points and division three winner was Eric Ball with 37 points.

In the gents’ monthly medal competition for July the winners were: Division one – David Downie; division two – Norman Tait; division three – Raymond Couser.

The next few weeks will be busy at the club with the Senior Mixed Open taking place on August 7 and the ladies Open Greensome on August 17.

The Club Championships will be held on Sunday, August 10 and during the preceding week the quarter and semi-finals will decide who will contest the finals for the gents and the juniors with the ladies finalists already confirmed.