From the archives
A look through the files of the Kilsyth Chronicle
This week in 2004
ATHENS BOUND: Kilsyth had its very own Olympic team when a group from a local church flew over to undertake mission work at the games. A total of nine volunteers from Kilsyth Congregational Church would join forces with an American church to spread the gospel in queues where sports fans waited to see competitions. The group would also be distributing bottles of water bearing spiritual messages and also doing some street theatre with some Muppet-style hand puppets.
This week in 1964
ST PATRICK’S OUTRULED: Kilsyth’s civil defence officer dismissed plans that the primary’s former premises should be used as a place of safety if the town came under attack. It was thought that the building would be better used as a recreation area for the town’s younger residents. It also emerged that the premises was unsuitable as it was church property and therefore unavailable.
This week in 1954
WE’LL KEEP REBUILDING: Irate Banton residents found themselves immersed in an extraordinary row over a bridge which spanned a burn. Hundreds of villagers were adamant that this route to Banton Loch was a right of way. Local farmer William Young disagreed and removed it. The bridge was rebuilt by locals but removed in turn by the farm. Villagers then collected piles of stones to make their own ‘bridge’ across the water and vowed to rebuild it if the stones were removed!
This week in 1924
SECRETARIAL SKILLS: Locals were being given the chance to broaden their career prospects after four new machines landed in Kilsyth. Typewriters would be handed over to the Kilsyth Continuation Classes. However, it emerged that Stirlingshire Education Authority was less ready to supply fire extinguishers for schools. This was costed at £480 and deemed too expensive.